24.09.2012 -A golden climbing rose.

by deanmelbourne

I bought a rose today. A golden yellow climbing rose. I bought it as the torrents of rain ran down lanes and gutters. I bought it as the clouds parted and the sun shone through. I bought it to remind me of a happier future that was given to me by my dearest friend. It was my only significant act today. It felt momentous and congruent with the direction of my thoughts. It was deliberate and mindful. It was more than a trade, it was a creative act.

It is always such a relief to find a way of expressing a sentiment that seems so hard to form into a sentence. This one sums up the a way I am feeling increasingly at the moment. 

“I must see new things and investigate them. I want to taste dark water and see crackling trees and wild winds. I want to gaze with astonishment at mouldy garden fences. I want to experience them all, to hear young birch plantations and trembling leaves, to see light and sun, enjoy wet, green-blue valleys in the evening, sense goldfish glinting, see white clouds billowing up in the sky, to speak to flowers.”

                                                                                                             Egon Schiele

