30.1.2014 – Announcement of ACE funding (no really!)

by deanmelbourne

Image

It still feel a little surreal to be able to share that I have been lucky enough to have been awarded a grant from Arts Council England. My project “Full Circle” will see me produce a new body of work to make the most of the showcasing opportunity that ART14 presents and share this process and with the the community and students from the college that I attended and started my artistic journey . Stourbridge College (now BMET Black Country) was my home as a student and then for 8 years as a lecturer and I am really happy to be going back to share my progress with students.  

I will be having groups of students to visit the studio to see work in progress and going into College to talk about professional practise as part of their tutorial programme. I will be opening my studio up officially and showing work in the area to allow the local community to engage. 

If anyone would like to visit the studio to see work in progress or hear more about the project just drop me an email at daytonadean@hotmail.com. 

At the risk of making an acceptance speech, I have lots of people to say thank you to for helping me put the project together, writing a proposal and making this period of work possible and generally offering support , advise , encouragement. Chiefly Helga Henry at my “other” job Creative Shift. Her support, guidance and understanding have not only made it possible to take two months out of work but her understanding of funding and project management were key in my being awarded funding! I would like to mention Noel Dunne from Creative Alliance who cast an expert eye over my application and gave me valuable feedback. 

Coates and Scarry for having faith in my work and giving me the opportunity to continue to try and make better work and get the chance to show it! 

Then there are the people who keep me sane, make me feel loved and on a daily basis make it possible to keep going.There are a lot of you to mention but I hope you know who you are!

I suppose it would be rude not to say thank you to the Arts Council for giving me this huge opportunity to build my practise and improve all aspects of my practise. 

 

